Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the VBA
Board of Governors
Share |

The business of The Virginia Bar Association is managed by its Board of Governors. It must consist of:

  • Four officers and the YLD Chair, who make up the Executive Committee
  • The chair of the LPMD and the chair-elect of the YLD
  • One representative from each of the six regions of the state
  • Six at-large members

Interested in serving a three-year board term? Members can self-nominate. Email the executive director.

Additionally, the board may appoint three representatives for one-year terms to represent the judiciary, the state’s law schools and lawyer-legislators. Email the executive director if interested.

2014 Board of Governors

Executive Committee

John L. Walker III2014 President John L. Walker III
Williams Mullen, Richmond

Harry M. “Pete” Johnson III2014 President-elect Harry M.
Hunton & Williams LLP, Richmond

James P. Guy II2013 Chair James P. Guy II
Chairman of the Board
LeClairRyan, Richmond

Thomas R. Bagby2014 Immediate Past President Thomas R. Bagby
Immediate Past President
Woods Rogers PLC, Roanoke

Elaina L. Blanks-Green2013 YLD Chair Elaina Blanks-Green
Chair, Young Lawyers Division
Norfolk Southern Corp., Norfolk

Board Members

Nupur S. Bal2014 YLD Chair-elect Nupur Bal
Chair-elect, Young Lawyers Division
Batzli Stiles Butler PC, Richmond
804-545-9800, ext. 322

Cheryl L. Black2014 LPMD Chair Cheryl L. Black
Chair, Law Practice Management Division
Evergreen Enterprises Inc., Richmond
804-231-1800, ext. 3147

Cyril F. CoombsBoard of Governors member Cyril Coombs
Board member, At-large
Dominion Resources Inc., Richmond

S. Miles DumvilleBoard of Governors member Miles Dumville
Board member, Capitol Region
Reed Smith LLP, Richmond

Mark L. EspositoBoard of Governors member Mark L. Esposito
Board member, Southwest Region
PennStuart, Bristol

William A. GalankoBoard of Governors member Bill Galanko
Board member, Tidewater Region
Norfolk Southern Corp., Norfolk

M. Melissa GlassmanBoard of Governors member M. Melissa Glassman
Board member, Potomac Region
McGuireWoods LLP, Tysons Corner

Michael HuYoungBoard of Governors member Michael HuYoung
Board member, At-large
Barnes & Diehl, P.C., Richmond

David S. MercerBoard of Governors member David Mercer
Board member, At-large
MercerTrigiani, Alexandria

Donald C. SchultzBoard of Governors member Don Schultz
Board member, At-large
Crenshaw, Ware & Martin, PLC, Norfolk

Eric J. Sorenson Jr.Board of Governors member Eric Sorenson
Board member, Southside Region
Edmunds & Williams, P.C., Lynchburg

C. J. Steuart Thomas, IIIBoard of Governors member C.J. Steuart Thomas III
Board member, Blue Ridge Region
Timberlake, Smith, Thomas & Moses, P.C., Staunton

Lori D. ThompsonBoard of Governors member Lori Thompson
Board member, At-large
LeClairRyan, Roanoke

Mary C. ZinsnerBoard of Governors member Mary Zinsner
Board member, At-large
Troutman Sanders LLP, Tysons Corner

Board Representatives

The Hon. Louis R. LernerBoard of Governors Judicial Representative Judge Louis Lerner
Judicial representative from Hampton

Dean Wendy Collins PerdueBoard of Governors Law School Representative Dean Wendy Perdue
Law School representative from Richmond
University of Richmond School of Law

Sen. John S. EdwardsBoard of Governors Legislative Representative Sen. John Edwards
Legislative representative from Roanoke
Attorney at Law 540-985-8690

Ex-Officio Board Members

Yvonne C. McGhee, JD, CAE
Executive Director

Brenda Dillard
Assistant Executive Director

Representative to the ABA House of DelegatesG. Michael Pace Jr.

G.M. Pace Jr.
The Center for Teaching the Rule of Law

Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal