Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the VBA
Honoring Past Presidents
Share |

Law firms support The Virginia Bar Association to acknowledge their member attorneys who led the VBA.

A Fitting Tribute

The Honoring Past Presidents Sponsorship Program recognizes volunteers who dedicated themselves to the highest level of service to The Virginia Bar Association.

Sponsors in this program, begun in 2012, provide vital support. Their assistance enables the VBA to continue and to expand its programs and services for the bench, bar and the public. Their gifts assist VBA efforts to:

We acknowledge and appreciate the law firms that take part in this annual giving program. We also echo their praise for the volunteer VBA leaders they honor with their generous contributions.

A list of participants, honorees and the VBA past presidents’ term in office follows:

Gentry Locke Rakes & Moore, LLP, Honorees

  • G. Franklin Flippin (1998)
  • G. Michael Pace, Jr. (2008)

Hunton & Williams LLP Honorees

  • Thomas B. Gay (1946-47)
  • T. Justin Moore (1953-54)
  • Evans B. Brasfield (1985)
  • Allen C. Goolsby (1991)
  • The Honorable Whittington W. Clement (1993)
  • David Craig Landin (1999)
  • John D. Epps (2009)

Kaufman & Canoles, P.C., Honoree

  • William R. Van Buren, III (2006)

McCandlish & Lillard, P.C., Honorees

  • Robert J. McCandlish, Jr. (1960-61)
  • Jesse B. Wilson, III (1979)

McGuireWoods LLP Honorees

  • The Honorable Thomas C. Gordon (1963-64)
  • E. Waller Dudley (1970-71)
  • Vernon M. Geddy, Jr. (1972-73)
  • W. Gibson Harris (1973-75)
  • Edward R. Slaughter, Jr. (1978)
  • R. Gordon Smith (1987)
  • Thomas C. Brown, Jr. (1992)
  • The Honorable R. Terrence Ney (1995)
  • Stephen D. Busch (2010)

MercerTrigiani Honoree

  • Lucia Anna "Pia" Trigiani (2011)

Sands Anderson PC Honoree

  • Douglas P. Rucker, Jr. (1996)

V.R. Shackelford, III, PLC, Honorees

  • Virginius R. Shackelford (1931-32)
  • Virginius R. Shackelford, Jr. (1964-65)

Spotts Fain PC Honoree

  • Hugh M. Fain, III (2012)

Troutman Sanders LLP Honorees

  • John S. Davenport, III (1971-72)
  • John F. Kay, Jr. (1982)
  • F. Claiborne Johnston, Jr. (1990)

Vandeventer Black LLP Honorees

  • John M. Ryan (1988)
  • Anita O. Poston (2000)

Williams Mullen Honorees

  • Lewis C. Williams (1938-39)
  • James V. Meath (2005)
  • John L. Walker, III (2014)

Woods Rogers PLC Honorees

  • Whitwell W. Coxe (1928-29)
  • Frank W. Rogers (1937-38)
  • John L. Walker (1947-48)
  • John L. Walker, Jr. (1983)
  • Thomas T. Lawson (1989)
  • Thomas R. Bagby (2013)

All law firms of past VBA presidents are eligible and encouraged to support the Honoring Past Presidents Sponsorship Program. Any firms interested in participating can contact John L. Walker, III, at 804-420-6463.

Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal