Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the VBA
Board of Governors
Share |

The business of The Virginia Bar Association is managed by its Board of Governors. It must consist of:

  • Four officers and the YLD Chair, who make up the Executive Committee
  • The chair of the LPMD and the chair-elect of the YLD
  • One representative from each of the six regions of the state
  • Six at-large members

Interested in serving a three-year board term? Members can self-nominate. Email the executive director.

Additionally, the board may appoint three representatives for one-year terms to represent the judiciary, the state’s law schools and lawyer-legislators. Email the executive director if interested.

2016 VBA Board of Governors. Photo by Marilyn Shaw

Executive Committee

James Patrick Guy II2016 VBA President James Patrick Guy II
LeClairRyan, Richmond

David S. Mercer2016 VBA President-elect David S. Mercer
MercerTrigiani, Alexandria

C.J. Steuart Thomas III2016 VBA Chair C.J. Steuart Thomas III
Chair of the Board of Governors
Timberlake, Smith, Thomas & Moses, P.C., Staunton

Harry M. “Pete” Johnson III2015 VBA President Harry M.
Immediate Past President
Hunton & Williams LLP, Richmond

Steven P. Gould2016 YLD Chair Steven P. Gould
Chair, Young Lawyers Division
Byrnes Gould PLLC, Danville

Board Members

Joseph H. Carpenter IVLPMD Chair Joseph Carpenter IV
Chair, Law Practice Management Division
Norfolk Southern Corp., Norfolk
757- 629-2878

N. Thomas Connally IIIBoard of Governors member N. Thomas Connally III
Board member, Potomac Region
Hogan Lovells US LLP, McLean

William A. GalankoBoard of Governors member Bill Galanko
Board member, Tidewater Region
Norfolk Southern Corp., Norfolk

Richard E. Garriott Jr.Board of Governors member Richard E. Garriott Jr.
Board member, At-Large
Pender & Coward, PC, Virginia Beach

Michael HuYoungBoard of Governors member Michael HuYoung
Board member, At-large
Barnes & Diehl, P.C., Richmond

Scott W. KowalskiBoard of Governors member Scott W Kowalski
Board member, Southside Region
Petty, Livingston, Dawson & Richards, Lynchburg

R. Peyton MahaffeyBoard of Governors member R Peyton Mahaffey
Board member, At-large
McCandlish Lillard, P.C., Fairfax

George Keith MartinBoard of Governors member George Keith Martin
Board member, Capitol Region
McGuireWoods LLP, Richmond

Jamie Baskerville MartinBoard of Governors member Jamie Baskerville Martin
Board member, At-Large
Williams Mullen, Richmond

Alison M. McKeeBoard of Governors member Alison M McKee
Board member, At-large
Kaufman & Canoles, P.C., Virginia Beach

Jeremy S. Williams2016 YLD Chair-elect Jeremy S Williams
Chair-elect, Young Lawyers Division
Kutak Rock LLP, Richmond

Thomas M. Winn IIIBoard of Governors member Thomas W. Winn III
Board member, Southwest Region
Woods Rogers PLC, Roanoke

Mary C. ZinsnerBoard of Governors member Mary Zinsner
Board member, At-large
Troutman Sanders LLP, Tysons Corner

Board Representatives

Del. G. Manoli LoupassiBoard of Governors Legislative Representative the Honorable G. Manoli Loupassi
Legislative representative from Richmond

The Honorable Everett A. Martin Jr.Board of Governors Judicial Representative Judge Everett A. Martin Jr.
Judicial representative from Norfolk
Circuit Court Judge 757-664-4580

Professor A. Benjamin SpencerBoard of Governors Law School Representative Prof. A. Benjamin Spencer
Law School representative from Charlottesville
University of Virginia School of Law

Ex-Officio Board Members

Michael J. QuinanGeneral Counsel for the VBA Michael J Quinan
General Counsel for the VBA
Christian & Barton, LLP, Richmond

Yvonne C. McGhee, JD, CAE
Executive Director

Brenda Dillard
Assistant Executive Director

Representative to the ABA House of DelegatesG. Michael Pace Jr.

G. Michael Pace Jr.
The Center for Teaching the Rule of Law

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal