Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the VBA
News & Press: Awards

VBA Honors 2 Attorneys for Inspiration and Mentorship

Wednesday, July 27, 2016   (0 Comments)
Share |

Two leaders in the community of Virginia lawyers who practiced before the State Corporation Commission received The Virginia Bar Association’s William B. Spong, Jr., Professionalism Award. The honor recognizes leadership and example inspiring to the legal profession and the public.

Anthony J. Gambardella Jr.Guy T. Tripp IIIAt the 126th VBA Summer Meeting in Hot Springs, Anthony J. Gambardella Jr. and Guy T. Tripp III were lauded for having “nurtured, inspired and cultivated a generation of practitioners.” Gambardella served in the Virginia Attorney General’s office, as general counsel of the State Corporation Commission and with the law firm Woods Rogers. Tripp worked at Hunton & Williams LLP.

VBA President James Patrick Guy II said he was just one attorney out of many who benefited from the guidance of the recipients in the exemplary environment of collegiality that permeates the legal profession in Virginia.

“They had no stake in me at all and nevertheless acted as mentors,” Guy said in presenting the awards at the VBA banquet July 22 at the Omni Homestead Resort. “They encouraged me. They cultivated me. And I would tell you that it was not because of anything that had to do with who I was; it had to do with who they were and who they are.

“Your examples and your direct encouragements made us better lawyers, improved the administration of the regulatory process, enhanced the public welfare and sustained the culture of collegiality that thrives today and will persevere for many years after your recent retirements.”

The Spong award, first given 19 years ago, has recognized just nine honorees. They include the initial recipient, Chief Justice Harry L. Carrico of the Supreme Court of Virginia, in 1997; former U.Va. law professor Daniel J. Meador in 1999; the retiring executive secretary of the state Supreme Court, Robert N. Baldwin, and the director of judicial planning for the office of the executive secretary, Kathy L. Mays, both in 2005; and two past VBA presidents, William R. Van Buren III in 2009 and Jeanne F. Franklin in 2014.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal