Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the VBA
News & Press: Association

Sections, Committees Elect 2017 Chairs

Friday, March 10, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |

The Virginia Bar Association, with 20 legal specialty subgroups and eight committees or joint committees, announces that these sections have elected new chairs to lead their group for 2017:

  • Appellate Practice: Alice T. Armstrong with the Office of the Attorney General in Richmond
  • Business Law: W. Lake Taylor Jr. with Hunton & Williams LLP in Richmond
  • Civil Litigation: Maureen R. Matsen with Christopher Newport University in Newport News
  • Construction and Public Contracts Law: Lauren P. McLaughlin with BrigliaMcLaughlin PLLC in Vienna
  • Corporate Counsel: Ryan W. Boggs with Dominion Resources, Inc., in Richmond
  • Criminal Law: Shannon L. Taylor with the Office of the Commonwealth's Attorney in Henrico County
  • Elder Law and Special Needs: Andrew H. Hook with Hook Law Center, P.C., in Virginia Beach
  • Environment, Natural Resources and Energy Law: Margaret “Peggy” Sanner with the Chesapeake Bay Foundation in Richmond
  • Health Law: James M. Daniel Jr. with Hancock, Daniel, Johnson & Nagle, P.C., in Glen Allen
  • Intellectual Property and Information Technology Law: Robert M. Tyler with the Office of the University Counsel at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville
  • Real Estate: Maxwell H. Wiegard with Gentry Locke Attorneys in Roanoke
  • Taxation: Tara McCook with CohnReznick LLP in Tysons
  • Transportation Law: Charles E. Wall with Troutman Sanders LLP in Richmond
  • Wills, Trusts & Estates: John T. Midgett with Midgett & Preti PC in Virginia Beach

In some cases, the chair serves consecutive terms. Repeating as section chair are:

  • Administrative Law: Kiva Bland Pierce with the Office of the Attorney General in Richmond
  • Bankruptcy Law: Kelly M. Barnhart with Roussos, Glanzer & Barnhart, P.L.C., in Norfolk
  • Domestic Relations: Michael C. Miller with Cole Miller PLLC in Vienna
  • Judicial: The Honorable Daniel E. Ortiz with the Fairfax County Circuit Court
  • Labor Relations and Employment Law: Kevin D. Holden with Jackson Lewis P.C. in Richmond

Additionally, these individuals are continuing in their roles as the leaders of VBA committees and joint committees for 2017:

  • Commission on the Needs of Children: Professor Margaret Ivey Bacigal with the University of Richmond School of Law in Richmond
  • Committee on Federal Judgeships, Eastern District: C. Thomas Ebel with Sands Anderson PC in Richmond
  • Committee on Federal Judgeships, Western District: Monica Taylor Monday with Gentry Locke Attorneys in Roanoke
  • Committee on Nominations to Virginia Commissions & Appellate Courts: John K. Burke Jr. with Setliff & Holland, P.C., in Glen Allen
  • Committee on Special Issues of National & State Importance: David Craig Landin with Hunton & Williams LLP in Richmond
  • Joint Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee: The Honorable Deborah W. Blevins with the Workers' Compensation Commission in Roanoke
  • Virginia Family Law Coalition: Cheshire I’Anson Eveleigh with Wolcott Rivers Gates in Virginia Beach

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal