Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the VBA
News & Press: Officers

Meet the 2019 Nominees and Appointees to the VBA Leadership

Monday, January 21, 2019   (0 Comments)
Share |

On Saturday, Jan. 26, during the VBA's 129th Annual Meeting, a slate of 2019 officers, nominees and appointees to the Board of Governors will be presented to the membership.

2019 VBA Leadership SlateAt this business meeting, President C.J. Steuart Thomas III will turn the reins of the organization over to 2019 President Richard E. Garriott Jr. Before that happens, the membership will vote on the unanimous board choice for president-elect, Alison M. McKee.

The Board of Governors is expected to choose Richard H. Ottinger as board chair at its January meeting.

Members also will consider the board-endorsed nominees of the class of 2019 of the Board of Governors. They are:

  • Ryan W. Boggs to represent the Capitol Region;
  • The Honorable Cynthia D. Kinser, At-Large;
  • Benjamin D. Leigh, At-Large; and
  • Eric H. Monday to represent the Southside Region.

Filling out the board are these appointees for 2019:

  • Dean Henry N. Butler as Law School Representative, for a first one-year term
  • Travis G. Hill as Government Attorney Representative, for a first one-year term;
  • The Honorable Jennifer L. McClellan as Legislative Representative, for a second one-year term; and
  • The Honorable Stephen R. McCullough as Judicial Representative, for a third one-year term.

Additionally, Eric J. "Rick" Sorenson Jr. will begin serving a three-year term as the VBA's general counsel.

Division leaders also serve on the Board of Governors. For 2019, they are:

  • R. Braxton Hill IV as chair of the Law Practice Management Division for the second year of a two-year term;
  • Jennifer L. Ligon as YLD chair, after serving a year as YLD chair-elect; and
  • Madelaine A. Kramer as YLD chair-elect, for a first year on the board.

Short biographical sketches and photos of these leaders can be found in the 2019 VBA Leadership Slate.

2019 Leadership Slate

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal