Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the VBA
News & Press: Members

Chief Justice Re-establishes Judicial Ethics Advisory Committee

Friday, October 30, 2015   (0 Comments)
Share |

Virginia's judiciary gained an additional source of guidance on ethical issues when the Supreme Court of Virginia in October re-established the Judicial Ethics Advisory Committee.

The committee, created in 1999, became inactive over time. Vacancies had not been filled.

The newly constituted committee is anticipated to be a complement to the Judicial Inquiry and Review Commission. The panel of 11 will "render advisory opinions concerning the compliance of proposed future conduct with the Canons of Judicial Conduct," according to the order re-creating the committee.

Chief Justice Donald W. Lemons appointed the newly re-established Judicial Ethics Advisory Committee. It consists of these VBA members:

  • Judiciary
    • Former Chief Justice Cynthia D. Kinser
    • Court of Appeals Judge Marla Graff Decker
    • Judge Wilford Taylor Jr., Eighth Judicial Circuit
    • Judge Richard E. Moore, 16th Judicial Circuit
    • General District Judge Pamela O'Berry, 12th Judicial District
    • Juvenile and Domestic Relations Judge Uley Norris Damiani, 18th Judicial District
  • Members of the state Bar for at least 10 years
    • Warren David Harless
    • Richard E. Ladd Jr.
    • Thomas E. Spahn
    • Lucia Anna "Pia" Trigiani

Additionally, Sen. Walter Stosch was appointed as a non-lawyer citizen member of the committee.

Committee members will initially serve terms of differing lengths to achieve staggered three-year terms.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal